Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Sankranti ~ Makara Sankranthi date in 2011

Sankranti, also known as Makar Sankranthi, marks the Suns transit into Makara Rashi. Sankranti 2011 date is January 15, Saturday. This day marks the beginning of Uttarayana Punyakalam. It is celebrated throughout India with various names. Makara Sankramana Snan is the most observed ritual during Sankranti.

Sankranti is celebrated as Pongal in Tamil Nadu for three days. In Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka, Sankranthi is celebrated for four days. Bhogi, Sankranti, Kanuma and Mukkanuma are the four festivals during Makar Sankranthi.

Sankranti 2011 dates – Calendar of Sankranthi 2011:

    * Bhogi 2011 – January 14, Friday
    * Sankranti 2011 – January 15, Saturday
    * Kanuma 2011 – January 16, Sunday
    * Mukkanuma 2011 – January 17, Monday

Bhogi marks the beginning of Sankranti festival. Sacred bonfire is the main ritual during Bhogi. This ritual is called as ‘Bhogi Mantalu in Andhra Pradesh. Kite flying, Rangoli designs (Pookalam, kolam or muggulu), Gobbemma, Gangireddu and haridasu are the main aspects of Sankranthi festival. Kanuma, third day during Sankranti festival, is associated with the legend of lifting of Govardhan Giri by Lord krishna. Mukkanuma, the final day of Sankranti festival, is celebrated to worship cattle.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post your valuable comments